Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Flatmate wants us to pay a rent fee to use her washing machine? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    So, I don’t know how others do the whole flatting thing but this is my first year flatting and I found this a bit strange. My flat mate baught a $250 washing machine a few weeks before I moved in without telling anyone else. I thought this was fine and we were happy to pay towards it as a group, assuming we would all equally own the washing machine. Or we do not pay towards the washing machine and she does what she wants with it at the end. ( I have done this with a freezer, anyone can use it but I will keep or sell at end) . However she wants us to pay a “rental fee” to use the washing machine at the end of the week, even though we pay for the power and water it uses . Not to mention she is a great friend of mine so I did not expect things to be this particular.
    Opinions? I want to make sure I am not getting this situation wrong?

ReputationRep:
    So, I don’t know how others do the whole flatting thing but this is my first year flatting and I found this a bit strange. My flat mate baught a $250 washing machine a few weeks before I moved in without telling anyone else. I thought this was fine and we were happy to pay towards it as a group, assuming we would all equally own the washing machine. Or we do not pay towards the washing machine and she does what she wants with it at the end. ( I have done this with a freezer, anyone can use it but I will keep or sell at end) . However she wants us to pay a “rental fee” to use the washing machine at the end of the week, even though we pay for the power and water it uses . Not to mention she is a great friend of mine so I did not expect things to be this particular.
    Opinions? I want to make sure I am not getting this situation wrong?
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep: