Turn on thread page Beta

Parents think I’m a failure and would rather me work than get a degree. watch

I’m in 2nd year of uni doing a degree in English and Scottish Literature. I moved out about 10 months ago and had to pack in my job in a supermarket because despite being on an 8hr contract, I was scheduled for between 16-25 hours per week as well as driving for 1.5hours. I almost failed uni as a result. I started tutoring instead, and whilst I’m not making big bucks I’m getting by and managing rent and bills with about £150 each month leftover for groceries and luxuries. Mainly because of my student loan. My problem is, my parents don’t believe tutoring to be a suitable job. Whenever I’m with them they only talk about work and getting a job, and despite me telling them I can’t work for more than 12hrs per week as I could drop a grade, they have applied for jobs for me of 20hours a week and upwards. They even wanted me to do a Modern Apprenticeship whilst doing my degree!!! I’ve tried to speak to them but they won’t take no for an answer. As a result of this I’m due to start working full time for 6 months starting next month in an office at my dad’s place of work. I don’t know how I’m going to study for my exams (April and May), as I’m already struggling with uni (I had to resist a year). It’s clear to me that they only respect me when I’m working and it has even been mentioned for me to quit uni and work full time. They don’t seem to take any pride in the fact I’m doing a degree that I enjoy and frequently say things “she doesn’t even want a job” and that I’m a lazy [email protected]&rd and I feel miserable. Neither of them have been to uni, both left school at 16 and started working. I don’t know if it’s a class thing but I’m really struggling to find any common ground with them. To make matters worse I’m currently in therapy right now for anxiety and panic attacks and I’m not even sure my therapist thinks I’m ready for this but it’s too late now. It’s also goi