The Student Room Group

Not enjoying computer science. Need advice

Hi guys
I am currently studying computer Science at university and contemplating whether this course is for me. Its mainly to do with programming, it doesnt really interest me which makes it difficult . I still want to get into the IT industry but i dont know what course i could do. My uni offers a Business Information technology course but i dont know if thats a good degree that will allow me to land a good job.

Advice would be highly appreciated.
(edited 6 years ago)
Universities usually have careers advisors or course advisors, stuff like that. If yours doesn’t, you could always talk to your tutor or head of department about switching the course which suits you better. They could advise you on what will be best for what you’d like to do, and they’ll know best what the courses consist of. I’d definitely talk to them :smile:
Original post by Sonic937
Hi guys
I am currently studying computer Science at university and contemplating whether this course is for me. Its mainly to do with programming, it doesnt really interest me which makes it difficult . I still want to get into the IT industry but i dont know what course i could do. My uni offers a Business Information technology course but i dont know if thats a good degree that will allow me to land a good job.

Advice would be highly appreciated.

There are lots of good jobs in tech that require little to no programming. First thing is what parts of CS do you enjoy?
Original post by jestersnow
There are lots of good jobs in tech that require little to no programming. First thing is what parts of CS do you enjoy?