Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Okay, hey fellow law students,

So i personally would say I am academically disadvantaged i didn't get great GCSE'S they range from B-D and I am currently studying a BTEC at sixth Form and I am predicted 3 Distinction stars. Prior to the questions i have been asking I'm sure you've realized i would like to become a lawyer (haven't quite decided whether i would like to be a barrister or solicitor, but I am leaning more to being a barrister).

I am in my first year of sixth form and have secured Work experience at Tuckers solicitors which is one of London's Leading criminal defence Law firm's. I have also applied to Pro bono legal representation and visit crown courts weekly to gain some skills. I am also planning on getting some work experience in chambers too. As well as this i will also be getting some experience in my local law centre. I also attend taster University sessions just to reiforce my self that i still would like to go law

My grades aren't the best either. So bottom line do you think i have even a single chance of becoming a barrister? I am aware my grades aren't the best and its not all about experience

ReputationRep:
    I’m part of the crap GCSE’s and did a BTEC crew. Whilst I can’t say very much about Law, in the sciences I was much better prepared for university than A-level students. I suppose it would depend on what BTEC you’re doing really, mine was medical science and then I went to Uni to do biomedical science so the comparisons were very close! If your BTEC is related you’re set! If not, I still think you’ll be a step ahead with the way BTEC assignments work being much more closely aligned to the university way of life. Anybody can study for an exam but to be under constant assignment pressure during your BTEC will set you up for the pressure of Uni assignments! Good luck