Turn on thread page Beta

So I have been doing an internship for nearly a year. Its mostly been educational stuff i.e. completing assignments set by the mentor etc and preparing for an exam outside of uni. I am in my 3rd year at uni.

Finished all of the intern work and now doing work experience again in a few weeks. They even said I can help out with their top highest department as well.
    I thought it was appropriate to update my Linkedin as the intern. Then my mentor told me to take it down and I found out yesterday why (through one of their co-workers). Its because they don't want to look bad for not paying someone because it will be made illegal soon in the UK?

I have spoken to close connection in my network who says that I should just put it on my CV anyway etc. I feel disappointed because they said it would make me look bad. I have put a lot of work into everything, Im not even asking to be paid, I only want to make if official for potential employers.

ReputationRep:
    That doesn't seem right that you can't mention that you worked there on LinkedIn! You have done a lot for the company and learnt a lot of skills that would be relevant to any future role. I don't really understand why you can't mention it because you weren't paid (plus you never state that you weren't paid) as a lot of people note down internships and work experience.

ReputationRep:
    Yeah I don't think it's right either. And I have dated or said when specific things ended and it's stated clear what I am currently doing. One of my connections said I should just post it and it's my choice and not the company.And I'm not asking anything from them, just want to share it

ReputationRep:
    Talk to your boss about it. You need to be able to get credit and a reference from the work. And plenty of internships are paid so there's no way to know whether or not you were.

ReputationRep: