Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone !

I'm a french student from Marseille, and I got 5 offers from english universities ! I'm having some issues : it'll be difficult for me to visit all 5 universities, so I'd like you know if you could help me sorting them.

The offers I got are from Exeter, Manchester, Leeds, Lancaster, and Birmingham. I asked for the same course everywhere : Mathematics G100. Exeter and Manchester gave me the exact same offer (the most difficult one, but I can probably get it with a bit of work), then it's Lancaster, Leeds and Birmingham (in order of difficulty).

I'll definitely go and visit Manchester and Exeter. The thing is that I don't really have a "type" of city, I can be happy pretty much everywhere; I can adapt quite easily. Which is why I'm asking you to help me : which of these universities are the most reputed (league tables don't really seem to be reliable, each of them are really different..), have the best accomodation, facilities... Any experience, opinion or fact will be welcomed !!! Thanks a lot !

Matteo
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    While they're in the process of revamping their undergraduate course, I'd definitely say Maths is one of the weaker departments at Exeter (having studied Engineering there, with which it shares a building - and several lecturers who were not...impressive teachers, I have to say). I'm not sure how Leeds fare for Maths really, but Birmingham seems good, especially if you're interested in applied mathematics and theoretical physics. Manchester is in general quite well regarded, and particularly for STEM subjects, but I'm not aware of how their Maths department specifically is.