Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    This year I'm going to aim for 100 rejections.

A bit about me: I graduated in 2015 with a First Class degree in Modern Languages. I'm currently working as a freelance writer and occasional photographer. I'm in my mid-20s and starting to have that irrational yet terrifying sensation that time is running out.

The idea: I was initially inspired by this: https://lithub.com/why-you-should-ai...ctions-a-year/

And then I watched most of the videos this guy sharedo n Youtube: https://www.ted.com/talks/jia_jiang_...s_of_rejection

Why 100 rejections: I aspire to work as a writer in a very competitive field, so getting rejections is inevitable.

I'm pretty ambitious but I'm wayyy too sensitive. I get tearful or worse numb every time a rejection email appears in my inbox--especially if it comes after an interview--I swear, sometimes I'd rather not hear back at all and bury the whole two-hour long applications in the deeper recesses of my brain (I swear--people should be paid for attending interviews/doing written tests).

What will I be applying for: I will be applying for all kinds of things, both directly and indirectly related to the industry (though mainly related). I'll be looking at internships, work experience placements, residencies, workshops, actual jobs and selective short courses. I will be reaching out to people in the industry and asking for advice/work experience unsolicited. I'm sure I'll be ignored/rejected a lot.

Why I'm doing this blog: I want to hold myself accountable by making this public. At the same time, I want to get some kind of emotional support as I pursue a challenge which will either make or break me.

Hopefully if I make it a mission to get so many rejections, I might get a few acceptance letters along the way too

Stay tuned for a year of rejections. Maybe I will surpass 100.

ReputationRep: