Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am in first year and I haven't been able to make any friends on my course. I really want to talk to people but I'm just so shy and self-conscious. I go to society meeting but I struggle to speak to people. Most people in my accomodation take drugs regularly and I feel very isolated from them because I don't do it and i feel like they look down on me. I want to try and make friends in second year but I'm scared it's too late. I don't know if other people will want to make friends in second year, and I'm scared I've already made a bad impression on people by being so shy.

ReputationRep:
    Being shy is not a bad thing. Making friends can be very difficult when going into new situations such as school. What things do you like to do? If you are able to find an outlet that provides the things you like, you'll find other people who like the same thing. Just don't be something you're not. You don't have to change to try and fit in. You are probably the only person that thinks you made a bad impression because you're shy. More than likely, other people will not be thinking that. You're projecting whatever doubts you have in your head. (Trust me, I've been there). Also, don't give yourself a deadline for making friends. It will come whenever.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by susss)
    I am in first year and I haven't been able to make any friends on my course. I really want to talk to people but I'm just so shy and self-conscious. I go to society meeting but I struggle to speak to people. Most people in my accomodation take drugs regularly and I feel very isolated from them because I don't do it and i feel like they look down on me. I want to try and make friends in second year but I'm scared it's too late. I don't know if other people will want to make friends in second year, and I'm scared I've already made a bad impression on people by being so shy.