Turn on thread page Beta

ZERO work experience, want to work in the Film Business, 22 years old. How? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi there.

I will graduate uni with a 2:1 in Politics at Bath. I have absolutely no interest in pursuing a degree relevant to my degree. I'm 22 years old.

I actually want to work in the Film Business: the distribution, production, finance, development side of things, rather than the creative film industry (directing, acting etc). I'd be interested in working for Working Title Films studio one day .

My degree is largely irrelevant for this goal (beyond communication skills). I have absolutely ZERO work experience, of any kind really.

Where should I start? I expect after uni I will scramble to find the first paying job I can to keep afloat (cafes etc), and in the meantime start looking for relevant internships, education and experience.

Should I start Uni all over again, get another undergrad in business or marketing or film related, and a relevant masters, whilst working part time jobs? I don't know how to start gaining the experience.

I'm willing to work relentlessly at this, realise the effort and sacrifice it will take and the position I'm in, and have the patience. I have absolutely nothing to lose.

Does anyone have any advice? Would be much appreciated.

Thanks, R
    • Section Leader
    • Very Important Poster
    • Peer Support Volunteers

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    Very Important Poster
    Peer Support Volunteers
    (Original post by RichardJones1)
    Hi there.

I will graduate uni with a 2:1 in Politics at Bath. I have absolutely no interest in pursuing a degree relevant to my degree. I'm 22 years old.

I actually want to work in the Film Business: the distribution, production, finance, development side of things, rather than the creative film industry (directing, acting etc). I'd be interested in working for Working Title Films studio one day .