Turn on thread page Beta

Photo project on skin lightening watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello everybody,

I am a female German student of photojournalism working on a project about skin lightening in the UK.
    I am interested in the many different ethnic cultures living here and how this background affects young people from these groups in their personal perception of female beauty ideals.
    I have found that for some people it can be difficult to juggle the expectations from their community, like being fair, tall and slender, to find somebody good they can marry, and the "outside" world in Britain where other standards apply.
    Also, I am interested in other motivations to lighten your skin, for example to get a better job or simply personal preferences.

If anyone here feels open to share their point of view I am happy to learn more! You can also pm me if you want to.

Have a great day!

ReputationRep:
    Hello! As a woman of color (Asian-Pacific descent), I used to have terrible issues concerning my skin color. I would buy whitening soaps which was effective somewhat to an extend so I can have my skin tone at least one shade lighter. I guess this stems from seeing the representation found in the media- how many models and actors are white as well as the deep seated colonialism that plagues the country I lived in before.

Moreover, having a lighter skin made me feel attractive and more beautiful.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by swirlybits)
    Hello! As a woman of color (Asian-Pacific descent), I used to have terrible issues concerning my skin color. I would buy whitening soaps which was effective somewhat to an extend so I can have my skin tone at least one shade lighter. I guess this stems from seeing the representation found in the media- how many models and actors are white as well as the deep seated colonialism that plagues the country I lived in before.

Moreover, having a lighter skin made me feel attractive and more beautiful.