Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I am devastated as I have now been rejected by 3/5 uni choices: LSE, UCL (applied for BSc Economics) and KCL (BSc Economics and Management). I don’t understand why at this point as my personal statement I thought was good and I have 40 points in IB, and am predicted A*A in my A-levels (which I am taking in a one year course). I also have good GCSE grades considering I am an international student and did Chemistry and Physics in one year and self taught myself and managed to get A*A (not trying to sound arrogant but I’m very frustrated). I feel like all the hard work & stress was for nothing.

Any suggestions?
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    I applied in January does that make that big of a difference?

ReputationRep:
    You doing only two A levels?

ReputationRep:
    Yes but I already have the full IB diploma + 2 A levels, usually people do 3-4 A levels only

ReputationRep:
    Did you apply after Jan 15? If before that then it was not an issue.

LSE isn't surprising at all, people get ridiculous grades and rejections. UCL you are a bit under the average applicant perhaps, not a huge surprise. But KCL is surprising, perhaps try asking them why?

PS did you do higher level maths in IB or maths A level?

ReputationRep:
    I applied before the UCAS deadline (Jan 15). Also UCL asks for 37 points, which I’m over + have A*A A-level predictions (A* for Maths). I did not do HL maths IB because when I was choosing my subjects I was unsure as to what I wanted to do career-wise, but that’s why I am doing A level maths in my gap year. KCL asks for 35 points and only SL Maths IB so I don’t understand at all. Neither gave me good reasons as to why, so I might call both. I don’t really know what to say though.. LSE considered me for much longer which I am surprised of, as I expected UCL and/or KCL to accept me but not LSE. I never expected all 3 to reject me though.