Turn on thread page Beta

Boyfriend doesn't understand "uni life." watch

I'm getting increasingly upset that my boyfriend judges me for being a student. I'm in my first year, so the first semester was a bit of a doss. I worked hard though and got good grades in my January exams. However, he works full time, and I guess in a way doesn't believe in going to University. He left school at 16 and has been working full time since then. He doesn't understand why my days are so short (2 lectures max a day) and is bitter because he has to work 7am - 5:30pm Monday to Friday. On my days off of Uni (I get every Friday off) I work, or at least try to get shifts but they don't need me much at the moment because they're not busy, but that's not my fault. I also try to work most Saturdays if they need me. His mum also has the same beliefs, making comments hinting I'm always in bed (which is not true, if i'm in my room i'm usually doing coursework).
    Has anyone else had this problem? It's making me feel really guilty every day just for being a student.

ReputationRep:
    Their comments show that they are narrow-minded. University contact hours are short and people are expected to do the majority of the work on their own in their room or in the library. Why don’t you start studying in the library instead? This will keep you out of the house and will make you feel more like it is a job? What are you studying?

(Original post by aiezsedai)
    Their comments show that they are narrow-minded. University contact hours are short and people are expected to do the majority of the work on their own in their room or in the library. Why don’t you start studying in the library instead? This will keep you out of the house and will make you feel more like it is a job? What are you studying?
    That's a good idea actually, thank you. I live about an hour away from the library but I'm willing to make the journey if I can avoid snide comments. I'm studying Geography.
    • Community Assistant