Accommodation for 2nd and 3rd year? (London)

Watch
Thomazo
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
I have not even started my 1st year yet, so this is not really something I need to think about yet, but I was just curious as to where people usually live for the 2nd and 3rd year.

Do they stay in uni accommodation or rent somewhere else? How likely am I to get uni accommodation past 1st year?

Just wondering, because it would be difficult for me to be able to afford private housing in London. I’m worried that I will be in a situation where I won’t be able to afford my rent, unless I’m in uni accommodation.

My uni will be UCL and I’m an EU student if that makes a difference.
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 2 years ago
(Original post by Thomazo)
I have not even started my 1st year yet, so this is not really something I need to think about yet, but I was just curious as to where people usually live for the 2nd and 3rd year.

Do they stay in uni accommodation or rent somewhere else? How likely am I to get uni accommodation past 1st year?

Just wondering, because it would be difficult for me to be able to afford private housing in London. I’m worried that I will be in a situation where I won’t be able to afford my rent, unless I’m in uni accommodation.

My uni will be UCL and I’m an EU student if that makes a difference.
Most people will move into a private house share after 1st year. UCL make clear they expect students to do this on their accomodation page
"we would expect students in subsequent years to find their own places using University of London Housing Services"

The good news is most courses come with enough time during the week or with long holidays that you can work and save up if money is an issue.
Thomazo
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 2 years ago
(Original post by jelly1000)
Most people will move into a private house share after 1st year. UCL make clear they expect students to do this on their accomodation page