Turn on thread page Beta

HELP. SOS. Mature student Illustration BA/FDA Application watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hello Everyone!

I think I've searched for every possible thread on this forum on the topic I'm posting on... but still could really do with some help if anyone with experience and knowledge could help me :-)

I'm looking to apply for Illustration in London... It has to be in London for certain personal reasons.

I started a short 3 week portfolio course in London in January. Unfortunately, disappointingly, for various reasons I did not come out of here with a completed portfolio, and I am due to finish the portfolio at home this week ready for a submission.

I left school at GCSE level. I do have A CELTA though, and I have taught English as a foreign language. I'm now 27, so I have no experience in the Higher Education system, and I find it all extremely intimidating.

I know I have missed the UCAS deadline of the 15th of Jan. My tutor said I should still be able to apply post deadline... and I've been informed about the clearance process...

I am wondering if people have experience or knowledge about mature students applying without the "set application requirements" but with other credible life experience attributes, and also if Universities could be more lenient on portfolios that might not fit their exact listed criteria?

I am 28 this year, so would prefer not do a foundation year in Art and Design and would really LOVE to get this process started this September. I draw so much from home.

Here's a flickr with some of my work on (this isn'y my portfolio I haven't made it digital yet but will submit some of this work)
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/142229...h/26953373786/

Again any advice and comments would be EXTREMELY appreciated. I think my hair has started going grey and I don't think about anything else right now.... please help ! :-) Xxxxxxxx

ReputationRep:
    No advice sorry, but I wanted to say that your art is stunning.