Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    It's my first year at a top London uni, and although literally none of my modules count this year (except one which is only 5% of the 3 years), I'm extremely stressed out. Everyone seems to be on top/ appears to be on top of things and although i'm working hard, I'm scared of failure and wasting 9k.

Although my modules don't affect my degree this year, i need to do well for those summer internships so again, more stress.

HELP?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by SherlockD)
    It's my first year at a top London uni, and although literally none of my modules count this year (except one which is only 5% of the 3 years), I'm extremely stressed out. Everyone seems to be on top/ appears to be on top of things and although i'm working hard, I'm scared of failure and wasting 9k.

Although my modules don't affect my degree this year, i need to do well for those summer internships so again, more stress.

HELP?
    Look you got a place in the uni so you have the ability to get through. The 9k is an unfortunate stress but ... it is there so you just have to get on with it.

If you think everyone else is completely on top of things it is because you are not in their shoes. Everyone needs to be a bit stressed because that is what gives us the motivation to get up in the morning and go to lectures/the library/ do an assignment /get off social media.

So take a deep breath and start doing some reading. By the end of the year you will get an assessment of how well you are doing and then you can adjust how much work you are doing accordingly. If you don't get the summer internship you wanted then so be it. Cross that bridge when you get to it.

By being stressed now you will only affect the quality of your work. Everyone in Year 3 will tell you - enjoy Year 1 while you can.

ReputationRep: