Turn on thread page Beta

Struggling to find a graduate job, considering doing a PGCE - advice? watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    I'm considering starting a PGCE course with a view to becoming a Primary teacher. I graduated almost a year ago and whilst I am employed in the retail sector, I've had no luck securing a graduate role in my degree subject area (Marketing). I've been applying for jobs with no luck since before I even graduated, without so much as an interview.
    I have a first class degree and did really enjoy my degree, but I'm starting to think that my job prospects in this sector are slim, as I'm struggling to even get low-level experience that could help me get my foot in the door. Part of me thinks I should just wait it out in case I find a really great job opportunity at some point, but I'm so demoralised and wonder if I'm wasting my time hoping for a job opportunity that isn't realistic.

I did consider teaching when I was in school and did have work experience in a couple of schools, before I became interested in marketing and decided to go down that career path instead. I've been told by friends that I would make a good teacher and I did really enjoy my work experience in schools all those years ago. However I've read a lot of forums and discussions where people have begun PGCEs and dropped out, or are qualified teachers and seem really depressed, demoralised, and haven't got two good words to say about the teaching profession.

The things that draw me to teaching are that it's a job that you can do anywhere (rural areas, towns, cities, abroad etc.), and I do think I would genuinely enjoy it. I'll be honest and say that the starting salary is also really appealing to me, given what I'm earning at the moment. However from what I've read, pretty much everyone else only has negatives to say about the work-life-balance, horrific kids, not being paid enough for the amount of work put in, stress and anxiety issues...