Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Can someone please tell me about the faculty, research prospects, student satisfaction and other aspects of studying at the university of Sheffield.

I'm an international student planning to do environment energy engineering from Sheffield. I also have an offer from Imperial for Advanced chemical engineering although I'm reluctant to switch fields if university rankings are not of much relevance and if Sheffield is providing decent prospects.
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    (Original post by mtaskeen)
    Can someone please tell me about the faculty, research prospects, student satisfaction and other aspects of studying at the university of Sheffield.

I'm an international student planning to do environment energy engineering from Sheffield. I also have an offer from Imperial for Advanced chemical engineering although I'm reluctant to switch fields if university rankings are not of much relevance and if Sheffield is providing decent prospects.
    Pick the course you prefer.

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    Tbh in terms of international reputation Imperial is level with LSE and only behind Oxbridge (and in engineering itself, arguably ahead of Oxford). Sheffield isn't bad, but it's at the lower end of the Russel Group; there are at least 15 or so universities with a better reputation. Imperial being in London (which means high living costs) also means that the graduate prospects are pretty much second to none.
    But if it's the course you want to do, by all means go Sheffield.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team

Ranks are irrelevant. What's relevant here is, do you want to switch fields or not?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Doonesbury)
    Pick the course you prefer.

Posted from TSR Mobile
    Thank you so much. That greatly simplifies things for me!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Smack)