The Student Room Group

Student jobs that are term time only?

Hi all,

I'm studying at Plymouth University however my family is not from Plymouth. I am wanting to get a part time job so I can have a little disposable income as at the moment I'm only just affording food and rent. However, I want to be able to go home in the holidays to see my family and friends, so was wondering what kind of jobs would allow me to just work during term time, and allow me to go home during the holidays?

Thanks
Original post by amoneill
Hi all,

I'm studying at Plymouth University however my family is not from Plymouth. I am wanting to get a part time job so I can have a little disposable income as at the moment I'm only just affording food and rent. However, I want to be able to go home in the holidays to see my family and friends, so was wondering what kind of jobs would allow me to just work during term time, and allow me to go home during the holidays?

Thanks

You wont find much that is just term time, as most students get jobs in places like shops, supermarkets, restaurants, fast food places etc, which are usually all year round.
What you could do though is try mcdonalds. They are very flexible and when i worked there i knew of quite a few people who worked there around uni. Most of the people i worked with did it the other way round and worked at our store when they came home during the summer and at christmas. But it is possible to do it the other way as well and some of the people i worked with transferred and also worked at a store near uni while at uni.