Turn on thread page Beta

Josh's Route to a First at First Year watch

• Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador

A Quick Introduction
    Greetings! I am Josh and I am a law student at the University of Kent. I'm in my first year of study and my time at university is going great so far (I think).

I'm not on the main LLB programme due to my difficulties at A Level, I am on the Certificate in Law (CiL) programme which allows me to get an extra push from my seminars and it's been an excellent help and has helped me become more confident.

This opening post will explore my past grades and will contain all of my assessment marks and a rough overview of my feedback.

I aim to get a First at the end of this year, which is at least 70 average. I am personally aiming for a 72 average overall.

Kent's Categorical Marking System
    Spoiler:
    Show

Some universities in the United Kingdom will gives marks such as a 47 or a 64. The University of Kent does not do this, instead it uses a categorical marking system to place each student either 'only just' 'safely' or 'highly' into a classification. This prevents 'borderline' results, ie missing out on the next classification by just 1 mark.

These are the marks we can get and what they mean for us:
    0, 10, 20, 25, 32, 35, 38 = Fail (no classification)
    42, 45, 48 = Third Class (3rd)
    52, 55, 58 = Second Class (lower) (2:2)
    62, 65, 68 = Second Class (upper) (2:1)
    72, 75, 78, 85, 95, 100 = First Class (1st)

My Modules
    Spoiler:
    Show

A Critical Introduction to Law (30 CREDITS) (AUT/SPR)
    This module looks at how we, as upcoming lawyers, need to be critical of the law. In this module this year we looked at the Nuremberg Trials, Harvard and Oxford, and Law & Economic Life. The module is 100% coursework consisting of a case commentary and a research project (long essay).

Introduction to Obligations (15 CREDITS) (AUT)