Plymouth Help! Watch

username3682650
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 7 months ago
Hi TSR peeps,

I've been studying at uni at Plymouth for quite some time, and it is my final year before graduation. I've had quite a roller-coaster ride of a time to say the least. Meeting people and making new friends at uni is apparently the best time in your life do such a thing, however from my 2 and half year experience here at the uni, it couldn't be any more opposite. I have indeed made great friends, however it has been a lot more deliberate than I'm used too.

My background is British , but I feel more of an international student when surrounded by other English peers, which has made it difficult to fit in. It has gotten to the point where I have literally cut my losses and started to invest more of my time with international students, to which my surprise has been much simpler and easy-going. It's ironic to me, as I felt in more in common with English students rather than international students. I often hear that the English have a reputation for being insular when it comes to forming social circles, however I've made English friends in the past and it's never been this difficult. Is this a Plymouth/South of England thing? or is it just my wacky assumption?
University of Plymouth
  •  Official Rep
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 5 months ago
(Original post by SamyBench)
Hi TSR peeps,

I've been studying at uni at Plymouth for quite some time, and it is my final year before graduation. I've had quite a roller-coaster ride of a time to say the least. Meeting people and making new friends at uni is apparently the best time in your life do such a thing, however from my 2 and half year experience here at the uni, it couldn't be any more opposite. I have indeed made great friends, however it has been a lot more deliberate than I'm used too.