Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

19, uni in September, my parents are threatening to kick me out. WHAT DO I DO?? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    So I'm 19 years old and I'm currently in my last year of college. I'm going to start uni in September.

I don't have a very good relationship with my dad. He's emotionally abusive towards my family and I and because of it I've been diagnosed with Depression and anxiety. He's recently threatened to kick me out and ive decided I no longer want to live at home anymore.

I live in the same town where my uni is but I don't think I'm going to be able to afford student accommodation there. I only make about £300 a month from my job and a maintenance loan won't cover very much.

I don't think there are any benefits available for students unless there are certain circumstances.

I urgently need advice. Please help

ReputationRep:
    Look into private renting. Accommodations can get ridiculously expensive.
    1 bed and studio flats tends to be made available to students by agencies at much cheaper prices. Majority will also have the basic contracts rather than just for the duration of the academic year.

ReputationRep:
    this isn’t the best advice but you can try contacting the housing services st your university to see what options there are, is there any relative that you could stay with until you get your housing situation sorted? whereabouts do you live? is the rent for rooms really expensive?
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    definitely agree with the above with private renting! i guess it depends where you live but i think you can get rooms for around £400 -£500 so that £300 and some of your maintenance loan should cover the rent?

ReputationRep: