Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I have been offered a place in both Chelsea Textile and in CSM graphic design and I don't know which one I should go for! I'm currently studying in the UAL CCW foundation course, majoring in illustration. Growing up I always thought I would become an illustrator, but after I came to this foundation course and chose the illustration pathway, I suddenly realised that it can be very boring and tiring to draw all day. Although I still draw well and enjoy drawing, I'm just not that interested in it anymore. Around this time I found interest in textiles, and the process of preparing my textiles portfolio was fun and not tiring at all. But now that I actually got into both textiles and graphic design I'm kind of torn in between. The CSM graphic design course has always been my goal and my dream school for a long time, I have came all the way here just to be in that course. I love their beautiful campus and motivating atmosphere, however, part of me really want to do textiles and I'm not sure if I will be happy choosing csm graphics. I love chelsea too, but I prefer the csm atmosphere much more. Something that I also worry about is that I did not have any previous experiences or knowledge in textiles, I'm afraid that I will be surrounded by students that are more experienced than me. But I also feel that it is right to take this risk and go for textiles. At the same time I feel that it would be stupid to give up on such a great chance to study at csm. I'm just afraid that my passion for textiles is temporarily, and once I get into textiles I will regret my decision. But I'm also scared if graphic design and illustration is not what I really want to do, and maybe illustration is not my true talent. Please help me!!!

ReputationRep:
    Go to CSM it is the better choice. Reasons 1- it is your main dream 2- Better job chance. 3- You can always collaborate with Textiles students in CSM 4- The name on your CV
    • Community Assistant