Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I’ve applied to all of these schools for a MA education course. Some are highly ranked for education (Birmingham, Durham, Sheffield) but others have stronger reputations (KCL,UCL). I’m an international student and I’m not sure which way to go. Should I go for the ones with strong brand recognition or for those stronger at the subject matter?

ReputationRep:
    KCL and UCL won't have as strong a subject matter as Birmingham , Durham and Sheffield but it'll not be far behind in any sense. If you want to work in places other than the UK , getting a Masters from KCL or UCL would help your case because not a lot of employers outside the UK would be well versed with how good Durham , Sheffield and Birmingham are in this particular field. If you're looking to get employed in the UK itself, I'd say going for any of the 5 wouldn't make a large difference as such , considering Durham and Birmingham are pretty good unis . Don't know much about Sheffield so can't comment

Why don’t you combine recognition and subject together? Durham has both. On the overall ranking league table, it is number 6 in the U.K., which gives it an overall positive reputation.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

I also agree with abhinair3004 about being outside the U.K. though, that KCL and UCL are more internationally recognised.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you all for your input. I really like Sheffield’s, Birmingham’s and Sussex’s courses best. I would like to work in the UK, but it is very difficult with visas. Another factor is cost. UCL is over 18,000£ without any scholarships. King’s is one of the cheaper courses, but living in London as you know is very costly..

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Maxwelljdh)