Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Regret doing medicine watch

Announcements

I'm a medical student in a London university with regrets over choosing this degree. I failed my 2nd year last year (2016-17) and hence was asked to withdraw. I have appealed and been accepted back into the course but have to take this year out before repeating my 2nd year, so effectively I will be in university for 8 years (instead of 6 years). I will be 26 when I graduate from medical school and many of my peers from school who graduated at 21 would have worked for 5 years and earned during those years. Adding to this the extra year of student finance I would have to pay back

I have no passion for this course as I don't find it intellectually stimulating and fully mass memorization which puts me in a really bad mood. After graduating medical school I realise that as a junior doctor I will be earning a very low wage. I was a bright student in school who enjoyed the sciences and am regretting going into this field so much now (I was pushed by my dad). I won't ever be as wealthy as my parents and I feel that I have completely lost the plot in life.

I fully regret this decisions and don't know what to do anymore!!! :-(
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    ...I have no passion for this course as I don't find it intellectually stimulating and fully mass memorization which puts me in a really bad mood.
    Have you spoken to student support? (I would assume so) But could the poor grades result because of the bad moon?

After graduating medical school I realise that as a junior doctor I will be earning a very low wage.
    Immediately yes, but then it catches up fairly quickly. Graduating at 26yo is not the end of the world at all. You could still be a GP at 31 years old, or consultant at 35 (starting salary £76k).