Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I’m currently a second year history student. I have researched into law and decided that I would like to become a solicitor. I feel like I would be able to achieve a first on my course however, my A-level grades were not the best (BBC). I also have absolute zero experience or contacts within the law field (although I’d be very much willing to gain some). The GDL course would only be fiscally possible to me if I get a law firm to sponsor me. Given my lack of experience or contacts within this field what do I need to do to make getting in with a law firm a possibility and pursuing a law career at this stage even realistic? Thanks for any help in advance.

ReputationRep:
    Something like 30-40% of solicitors in city law firms come from non-law degrees/background.

You need to:

- focus on getting the best academic grade you can in your subject
    - work experience would be good (can be anything from vacation schemes to working in your local high street firm)
    - build your CV with other extra circular activities

Typically a 3rd year non-law student would be applying for training contracts so you've got about 6 months to start getting things into gear (vac scheme applications start surprisingly early). Go to the presentations that law firms come to give to your university.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ricky1526)