Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

When to get help for depression? watch

Announcements

I’m asking this because I’m not sure at what stage it’s acceotable to go for help at the doctors about depression.

I lead a healthy lifestyle: I’m a rower so I go to the gym 5 days a week and row twice a week, I eat very well (I’m vegetarian and I’m studying nutrition at uni) and I don’t tend to drink because I don’t like how it makes me feel and how I lose out on sleep.

Since Christmas I’ve had a really tough time falling asleep, even though I’m tired by around 8pm when I used to feel tired at 11! I just lie awake for ages. It’s never been a problem for me before :/ I’m also so tired in the day, even when I’ve had a good 8 hours of sleep. It’s got the the point where I have to take extra rest days off my exercise.

I started uni in September and was terribly unhappy, so I moved out my flat into a studio and was happier. During the January exams I became really stressed and down, to the point where I became hysterical one day and had to go home (6 hour train journey). I have good days and bad days, but I’m in such a low mood these days. I don’t even want to see my friends or go out the studio to exercise and I used to love this!! When I do see my friends, I leave early and stress the whole time.

Today I came back to my flat and cried for a solid hour. It’s ridiculous. I want to see a doctor and ask them about the possibilities of sleep problems and depression. My mum had severe depression when she was younger. But I’m worried the doctor will think I’m annoying because my mood isn’t one of self harm or anything, and I dont want him to think I’m just looking for attention.

Would I be okay to phone up for a doctors appointment tomorrow?

ReputationRep: