Turn on thread page Beta

How to get this Inspector calls essay to a grade 9? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey there
    I am currently studying AQA English literature and I have written an essay on How Sybil Birling is presented in an inspector calls. Any feedback would be gratefully received!
    THANK YOU

Sybil Birlings supercilious and austere nature derive from feelings of elitism and her character is central to an understanding to the play. She symbolises everything that is wrong with the Edwardian aristocracy : their chaotic and reckless struggle for profit, their lack of obligation to their community and their callousness.

Priestley begins by describing Mrs Birling as contemptuous and aloof through the use of structure and form. It is evident through the use of stage directions when she is described as a “cold woman’ and “her husbands social superior”. The use of the adjective “cold” although perhaps, highlights the emotional distance and detachment of Mrs Birling from the harsh reality of society – particularly the plight of the working class. The fact that this is the first attribute described in the exposition conveys the significance of her phosphorous nature and the way she uses it to exploit the lower classes, just like many of the Edwardian elite in 1912. The fact that Mrs Birling is “her husbands social superior” conveys how although likely Mr Birling and Mrs Birling are likely on a similar level wealth wise, the fact that she comes from a historically upper class family and My Birling made his own wealth through business makes her his social superior.

ReputationRep:
    omfg i dont know half these words and im predicted a 9 lmao help

ReputationRep:
    i think that's way too less to write, if u want to get a grade 9. you need to write more about methods and subject terminology x

ReputationRep:
    waffling, uses simple vocab

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Louisexchandler)
    Hey there