Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am joining in September on the Biomedical Sciences course. I have a few months yet but just wondered what sort of laptop anyone would advise? With this course will I need to be looking for laptops with a certain specification? I just want to make sure I get a good and reliable one that isn’t too heavy to carry around. Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by CharRolfe)
    Hi, I am joining in September on the Biomedical Sciences course. I have a few months yet but just wondered what sort of laptop anyone would advise? With this course will I need to be looking for laptops with a certain specification? I just want to make sure I get a good and reliable one that isn’t too heavy to carry around. Thanks
    Hi
    Congrats on your biomed offer!
    I’m a third year biomed student and I can say that on my case any laptop is fine.
    I had an alright £200-250 for the last two and a half years which did the job but I’ve recently got a MacBook Air which I’ve started to take to my lectures.

Quite a few students take their laptops to lectures with them and type up their notes on it (lectures are in the form of PowerPoints or pdf which I can download before the lecture starts and add notes to that).
    Before getting my new laptop I just printed off my lecture slides and annotated them by hand in lectures which worked perfectly well for the last five semesters. It’s only this semester that I’m trying my new method (kinda risky!!)

You are likely to have to write up lab reports and maybe an essay or two so you need Microsoft (although a lot of unis let you download it free for your duration there so hold off buying it).

It’s good for a laptop to be lightweight as it’s a pain to carry around campus with you if not (I avoided taking my old laptop anywhere).