Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi All,

I'm in my last year of uni and really struggling to hit those top grades. I have approached my professors and gone through my uni grades (highest I've got is 68) but I tried really hard for that piece of work. The one I did straight after that I got a 50 and was really upset, as when I read over it I thought I had done just as much as I could for the 68 one.

My problem is I can't really think about arguments in a complex way, I struggle to think differently and analytically. I feel like my arguments lack substance and are very basic in my explanation. I try to do the whole PPE structure throughout my essay. Do any of you have any tips for me as to how I can get the 70+ marks for someone who struggles with detail and thinking "outside the box"?

ReputationRep:
    Do you mean point, evidence and explain in every paragraph of your essay? Is that the structure that is recommended by your tutors? My concern would be that, whilst rigidly following such a structure might produce a solid and unobjectionable essay, it may lack that touch of something extra that they are looking for at degree level (often some degree of personal argument or interpretation not just 'this shows this; that shows that; and the answer is probably somewhere between the two'). Are you able to look at the essays of someone on your course who is scoring highly? And are you spending time reading and re-reading the questions and really breaking it down before starting planning? (sorry if that is a really dumb question but I found it so important).

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Cremedalemer)
    Hi All,