Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi
    I am currently studying BTEC IT level 3.
    My GCSE grade is C,B,B,C,D,D,D and MM in level 2 IT.
    I want to go uni and study computer science will my gcse grade affect me getting a place. Also I have passed maths and English with 5 on maths and 5 on English. I am redoing Maths to get a higher grade. I got D on science but I’m thinking on redoing that next year as this year.
    The thing got me worry is that if I redo science I will get the result in like March or in August depending on when I’m taking it. This mean I will apply for uni before I get my result.

THANK YOU

ReputationRep:
    All Russel group uni's will want maths at an A grade equivalent GCSE and at A level.

Although, I have been offered a place to study CompSci at Newcastle AAB grades required, this was the only Russel group uni I found that didn't require the study of maths at A level (I took comp sci, history and economics), but they did want at least a B in maths at GCSE (not familiar with the number equivalent). So as far as the top unis in the country you might be hard pushed, but I went to see Teeside also, they offered me CCD any A levels. I don't imagine that IT will translate quite as well as maths would on an application, however this will depend on the uni.

Hope this helped.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by leobarry)
    Hi
    I am currently studying BTEC IT level 3.
    My GCSE grade is C,B,B,C,D,D,D and MM in level 2 IT.
    I want to go uni and study computer science will my gcse grade affect me getting a place. Also I have passed maths and English with 5 on maths and 5 on English. I am redoing Maths to get a higher grade. I got D on science but I’m thinking on redoing that next year as this year.
    The thing got me worry is that if I redo science I will get the result in like March or in August depending on when I’m taking it. This mean I will apply for uni before I get my result.