Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am hoping if someone could help me! I have been accepted on a PGCE course for September to teach biology at secondary school level. I was given the impression by the teaching helpline that the bursary was £26k (which will enable me to leave my job and pay for childcare for 2 small children).

I hold a first class degree with a biology content of over 50% (nursing) but the admissions tutor led me to believe this degree (regardless of classification) would not entitle me to any bursary at all.

Obviously I am concerned as I still have to feed, house and pay the (huge!) childcare bill whilst training and can’t seem to get a firm answer from anyone.

Wondering if anyone else had issues with this?
    • Community Assistant
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Clare80)
    I am hoping if someone could help me! I have been accepted on a PGCE course for September to teach biology at secondary school level. I was given the impression by the teaching helpline that the bursary was £26k (which will enable me to leave my job and pay for childcare for 2 small children).

I hold a first class degree with a biology content of over 50% (nursing) but the admissions tutor led me to believe this degree (regardless of classification) would not entitle me to any bursary at all.

Obviously I am concerned as I still have to feed, house and pay the (huge!) childcare bill whilst training and can’t seem to get a firm answer from anyone.

Wondering if anyone else had issues with this?
    As I understand it, the subject of your degree doesn't affect your entitlement to a bursary. Admissions tutors often don't keep updated with chances in finance, or they might be misinformed. I'd suggest contacting your uni's finance office for further advice.

ReputationRep: