The Student Room Group
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes

90 credits at Level 1 allow me to miss first year if I switch to brick uni from OU?

Hi! I'm new here. I'm currently a student of English Lit at the Open University, in my first year. By the end of this semester I will have completed 90 credits at Level 1. My scores are between 70% and 85% so far and I'm really enjoying it. However, im now anxious to complete my degree faster than the 4-5 years that it would take me at the OU, and my situation is such that I have no commitments and could easily move to a brick university to study. My question is: will I have to start again at brick uni and do 120 credits at Level 1 all over again? Or can my 90 credits qualify me to begin year 2 (then catch up with the 30 additional level 1 credits later)??
Reply 1
Original post by MollyErin1994
Hi! I'm new here. I'm currently a student of English Lit at the Open University, in my first year. By the end of this semester I will have completed 90 credits at Level 1. My scores are between 70% and 85% so far and I'm really enjoying it. However, im now anxious to complete my degree faster than the 4-5 years that it would take me at the OU, and my situation is such that I have no commitments and could easily move to a brick university to study. My question is: will I have to start again at brick uni and do 120 credits at Level 1 all over again? Or can my 90 credits qualify me to begin year 2 (then catch up with the 30 additional level 1 credits later)??

Hi and welcome :smile:

I've moved your post to the more relevant Open University forum. I'm sure the experts here will help :smile:
Student at the Open University
Open University
Milton Keynes
It is difficult to transfer due to curriculum difference and the nature of L1. Why not study L2/L3 lit with the OU at a full-time intensity and finish in 2 years?

What are you looking to do with your degree?
Original post by MollyErin1994