Turn on thread page Beta

How will dropping out of university affect my student finance money? watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm a first year uni student and a few months ago I posted a forum where I have considered dropping out of uni; since then I have been doing research where I've been looking at the pros and cons of this decision since I am not 100% sure about what I want to do. I have decided to see the first year through so I can give myself some time to make a decision.

In terms of dropping out, I wanted to clarify how it would affect my student finance money in terms of how much I would have to pay back + future funding (this is if I chose to drop out and return to uni in the future)?

Thanks.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

ReputationRep:
    Student finance will fund you for the length of a course +1. So if you leave after finishing out the year you will have funding for another full course regardless of how many years it is, with the caveat that if you have to repeat a year for whatever reason you’ll not be funded. You’ve used your +1 if that makes sense. If you leave and decide not to return then you just start paying back student finance equivalent to the total you’ve borrowed for your one year. Again the threshold applies so you won’t start paying back until you earn above £17,000 (not the exact figure but not far off). For example if you got £9,000 tuition fees loan plus £4,000 maintenance loan you’ll begin to pay back your £13,000 plus any interest accrued. Grants obviously do not have to be paid back.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Daveboi115)