Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone!

I am enrolling to study History & Politics at university this autumn. The choice is between Oxford (LMH) and Edinburgh, both of which I have received offers from (and I have already received my qualifications, so that's not a concern).

Right now I'm leaning towards Oxford: it offers high quality education, is
    internationally recognized, and it's been a dream of mine for years to go there. However, I'm still really on the fence as there are a couple of things that concern me:

- It's so expensive! Since I am an EU student from outside of the UK, I wouldn't have any tuition fees to pay at Edinburgh, and since I want to pursue postgraduate study in the UK as well I'm questioning if it's worth it to spend so much money on an undergraduate degree.
    - I don't know how I feel about the city of Oxford, while I absolutely love Edinburgh. It seems student life at Oxford happens more on a "college level", or through clubs and societies, not so much individually, if you get what I mean.
    - The accommodation situation. I'm not sure I like the fact that at Oxford (or LMH, at least) you can't stay in your college accommodation over the vacations. Since I'm from Sweden, it's a little inconvenient for me to go home so often, and I am going to university in the UK because I want to live there; I feel a little like it's not worth it if I'm going to spend pretty much the same amount of time in my home town as in the UK.

I'm just really scared as well that if I don't go to Oxford I'll spend my life thinking about it. It would feel stupid to turn it down since I've been dreaming about it for so long and I've gone to so much trouble to get in. :-/

TLDR: I'm choosing between Oxford and Edinburgh for History & Politics. I'm leaning towards Oxford academically, but it seems like a much less "practical" choice than Edinburgh.

I would appreciate any advice, thoughts and insights! Thank you!
    • TSR Support Team