Turn on thread page Beta

Help, I’m a student and I’ve been applying for part time jobs for months now. I keep getting rejected or no responses. I’ve been in for an interview of two but the hours didn’t seem to match my availability. What am I doing wrong? And what kind of places hire students easily.

ReputationRep:
    Look at waitressing or bar jobs - the turnover is pretty high and they are always looking for new staff. The job is easy to pick up to. Popular jobs also include tutoring, retail or admin work. There can also be jobs going at your university, such as research or tour guides, which you can be paid for.

Look at your CV - is it the best it can be? You might also want to consider doing volunteering or extra-curriculars to boost your experience.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    Help, I’m a student and I’ve been applying for part time jobs for months now. I keep getting rejected or no responses. I’ve been in for an interview of two but the hours didn’t seem to match my availability. What am I doing wrong? And what kind of places hire students easily.
    Some jobs require experience to be hired. I was looking for jobs when I was 17 (alongside A-Levels) and couldn't find any. I started in retail as a 3 month temp. I didn't get taken on permanently because there were no roles, but it opened doors to a lot of other jobs for me.

You should try indeed.co.uk, or handing CVs into local independent cafes. Especially consider looking at jobs on retail sites and DEFINITELY applying for temp roles, because even if it's just for a few months, you can prove you have experience and get another job more easily afterwards.

I finished retail a few years later and after university, the only job I could get was an 8-week temp one in a solicitors firm. They subsequently took me on full-time and I ended up staying for the good part of a year before moving to another firm. It's a great way to move forward.