Turn on thread page Beta

Paralegal Interview watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone

I have a paralegal interview with DAC Beachcroft for their Motor Credit Hire role.

I was notified that there will be a 30 min test prior the interview.I just wanted to know if anyone who has experience with this could suggest some tips, and with the interview in general

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Bump

ReputationRep:
    Anyone?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by AthiaKarim)
    Anyone?
    I don't know DACB particularly but I work as a PL at a very good firm just around the corner (we beat DACB a lot..!). In my first interview (with the HR adviser responsible for my department) they didn't want to ask too much about the law but general CV questions, situational questions, the sort of thing you would expect at any graduate level job interview.

The subsequent interviews with an Associate / Partner touched more on legal issues, recent cases of interest, costs reforms, and commercial awareness issues but they are really looking for keenness rather than expertise/accuracy. Obviously, don't talk rubbish though. Read up about some of their recent cases/clients on their website.

I had a test which was basically to draft a case commentary in response to a few particular questions about a case that was due for judgment in the UKSC, but that was take home rather than pre-interview. I would expect your test will be some sort of drafting exercise, maybe a letter to a client? They will want to check that you can fulfil the role of Paralegal rather than working out whether you're going to be a brilliant lawyer one day.

Hope that helps. Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mathsmusicfrench)