Turn on thread page Beta

Age old cliche I know, yet here I am, unable to make up mind about how to proceed with my life.

Basically I'm an English literature grad, 25 years old, working part time in retail and living with my parents. I've always wanted to be a professional novelist / screenwriter and I write most every day. I believe I'm talented though I do get disconcerted by how unlikely it all seems.

Anyway, I don't require much materialistically, but I do need independence. I have an interest, though it's pretty vague in tech and a confirmation in a software MSc conversion at a good university.

Should I take the MSc or try and get into a MSc in screenwriting / prose writing? In other words should I put my dreams first, and try and scrape a living doing more basic jobs to support my dreams? Or should I prioritise independence and security, marginalise my dreams and push it to the background? Any thoughts greatly appreciated.
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    I’d go for the ladder. You can still write in your free time.

ReputationRep:
    Go follow your dreams, by doing so, there is nothing to be lost apart from few years of time and couple grand. And if you fail, you know that you at least tried. But not doing it when you had the chance is when you give up...you don't want to do that

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    Age old cliche I know, yet here I am, unable to make up mind about how to proceed with my life.

Basically I'm an English literature grad, 25 years old, working part time in retail and living with my parents. I've always wanted to be a professional novelist / screenwriter and I write most every day. I believe I'm talented though I do get disconcerted by how unlikely it all seems.

Anyway, I don't require much materialistically, but I do need independence. I have an interest, though it's pretty vague in tech and a confirmation in a software MSc conversion at a good university.