Turn on thread page Beta

Applying for an MRes without meeting entry requirements - help! watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, first post.

I graduated with a Physics Bsc in 2016 and I've been working full time (job not related to my degree) since then. However, I desire to return to doing research in this area, specifically in astrophysics.

The uni I previously studied at offers a relevant MRes, but I'm holding myself back from applying as I have a third and the programme asks for a 2:1 minimum. I applied for and received extenuating circumstances at various points during my degree (including completing the course over a longer period of time than usual) so I guess there should still be a record of this.

When I got in touch with the department the pg admissions assistant suggested I contact the academic admissions tutor and explain my situation.

I was wondering if anyone has any advice about what I should ask the tutor in order to work out whether I have a chance of getting onto the course - I don't know whether being upfront about my degree result would immediately tip the scales against me and have an effect on my application if I decide to apply anyway. I'd also be interested to hear if anyone else has been in this situation. Thanks in advance.
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by Jebjebjebjeb)
    Hi all, first post.

I graduated with a Physics Bsc in 2016 and I've been working full time (job not related to my degree) since then. However, I desire to return to doing research in this area, specifically in astrophysics.