Turn on thread page Beta

Possible to play the system and get an extra £5k? watch

ReputationRep:
    jw

is it possible for a non-English home student to get the SFE payments of £10k for postgrad loans?

I studied in England for 4yrs, and continued to work here. I've been here now, paying council tax, and train tax (i.e. x10 the cost of a train ticket...for the ticket each day, sometimes the train comes, sometimes it doesn't, depends if the driver decided to show up that day I guess)

Anyway, point is, I've been here now for 4.5yrs, so can I just use an old bank statement to prove residency and use that to claim 'English' status and get £10k for a MSc, instead of the measly £5k in Norn Iron?

jw
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by Et Tu, Brute?)
    jw

is it possible for a non-English home student to get the SFE payments of £10k for postgrad loans?

I studied in England for 4yrs, and continued to work here. I've been here now, paying council tax, and train tax (i.e. x10 the cost of a train ticket...for the ticket each day, sometimes the train comes, sometimes it doesn't, depends if the driver decided to show up that day I guess)

Anyway, point is, I've been here now for 4.5yrs, so can I just use an old bank statement to prove residency and use that to claim 'English' status and get £10k for a MSc, instead of the measly £5k in Norn Iron?

jw
    Need to be here at least another year and a half imo ans you need to be ordinarily resident for the three years prior to the course. Your uni years wouldnt count.
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    (Original post by Et Tu, Brute?)
    jw

jw
    Hi Et Tu, Brute?, I just need to ask a couple of questions in order to advise you there.
    Are you a Northern Ireland national?
    Did you complete a 4 year degree in England and have been living there for around half a year since?

Thank you,

John.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by John B SFE)