Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I’m really, really struggling at uni and everyday life. Throughout my childhood, I was abused extensively and this has seriously impacted me. What’s worse is that I am so so ashamed of what’s not my fault . I’m stuck in a horrible limbo where I am deterring people I meet by my irrational behaviour but do not have the confidence to tell people why I am like this or talk to anyone about it. I have no idea how to combat this.

I cannot put myself in your shoes at all, the only things I can suggest are: getting therapy. They can help you come to terms with your problems. Another option is meditation, you can become at peace with yourself and it can help you let go of the past. Again I’m no expert and can see that those problems can’t magically be wished away, but these are the two options which I feel may help you.
    Posted on the TSR App. Download from Apple or Google Play

That’s awful, I’m sorry to hear you’ve had to go through that but it’s completely understandable that it is still impacting you today. Have you tried speaking to a university councillor or confide in one of your closer friends at university?

ReputationRep:
    The best thing you can do is speak to a counsellor.
    I didnt tell my family until last year, I had been through counselling and court by myself.

You need a good support system to get through this.

I know it's incredibly scary because you can never tell how people will react, but you can't control other people - what you can control is getting the help you deserve to overcome this.

Not sure what region you are in, in NI I went to Nexus, SHIP, Niamh Louise.
    I would even contact your GP and they can point you in the right direction, or even contact NAPAC.

If you need to chat or anything, please dont hesitate to message and I will try my best to help, it's a very lonely experience but there is help

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by LadyEcliptic)