Turn on thread page Beta

Need advice on how to apply for course with a DBS check watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

So im in a bit of a predicament, I've managed to secure a voluntary placement at a primary school in a few weeks, but they've asked me to get my DBS check done before I start.

As far as I'm aware I cant do it myself, I've asked the school if they could do it and I would cover the cost, but they politely declined, I also asked the uni I graduated from, and they also said no, as I'm not a student.

Need help, how do I get a DBS check done myself???

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by amramr1234)
    Hi guys,

So im in a bit of a predicament, I've managed to secure a voluntary placement at a primary school in a few weeks, but they've asked me to get my DBS check done before I start.

As far as I'm aware I cant do it myself, I've asked the school if they could do it and I would cover the cost, but they politely declined, I also asked the uni I graduated from, and they also said no, as I'm not a student.

Need help, how do I get a DBS check done myself???
    Link - https://www.gov.uk/request-copy-criminal-record

Request a basic DBS check

Apply for a basic Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check to get a copy of your criminal record. This is called ‘basic disclosure’. It’s available for people living or working in England and Wales.

There’s a different way to apply if you live or are applying for a job in Northern Ireland or Scotland.

The check will only show convictions that aren’t ‘spent’, for example some types of caution will disappear after 3 months.

It costs £25. You must be 16 or over to make the request.

It usually takes up to 14 days for you to receive your certificate.

The service is available from 8am to 11:30pm.

What you’ll need To apply, you’ll need:

all your addresses for the last 5 years and the dates you lived there

your National Insurance number

a debit or credit card