Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm an A-level student who applied for Mental Health Nursing. I do love the idea of helping others, especially in the mental health area which is why I applied for this course. However, I have only recently heard of really bad experiences regarding this course that have honestly put me off it. I'm also unaware of how placements work; I have heard of students being lucky to do their theory for nursing first before doing their placements, and others integrating both constantly and I don't know how that works...
    I have also realised that there is something really appealing to me about teaching in particular drama and English. I've talked to my teachers and they've all said that I seem like someone who would be a great teacher.
    I am honestly really confused at the moment. I feel so stupid for applying to mental health nursing if I was going to doubt myself like right now. I feel unbelievably stressed about the prospect of not knowing what I want to do anymore.
    I am planning to do my interview for mental health nursing and asking how placements work; if the university does placements at a separate time from theory then I think I'll do the course but if not then I might pursue a course teaching drama and English.
    Is anyone in the same scenario? I would appreciate it if you could share your experiences on nursing with regards to placement... Another thing I am worried about is that sometimes I can be emotional which although it's good to be compassionate towards others, I may react with too much sensitivity.
    Any advice?
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    (Original post by I_Love_Cats)