Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    asking for some advice... I want to be a midwife, it’s my dream job but the only thing that’s stopping me from pursuing this is the night shifts. I honestly don’t think I’d be able to cope with them. I need to decide on my course for uni soon and I’m not what to do. Is it compulsory to do night shifts or is there anything else similar to a midwife I could do that doesn’t involve night shifts? google wasn’t much help with this

ReputationRep:
    as a student midwife, you will be expected to work a variety of shifts- nights, weekends, banks holidays, early shifts, late shifts etc. I know this because I am in my first year of a Mental Health Nursing degree. For my first placement, we were advised not to work nights just because it was our first, but from now on that will be expected of us. If you are thinking ahead to when you would be a qualified midwife, if you worked as a community midwife, as opposed to working on shifts in a hospital, then you may be working 9-5, but I am not sure about this. Either way, you will need to work nights as a student. Working unsociable and difficult hours is just part of the job, but it's just another sacrifice that you will have to make if you really want to pursue midwifery. Think about it this way- all nurses, healthcare/nursing assistant, midwives etc working on hospital wards all around the world manage with working night shifts and they are often paid slightly more per hour too! The prospect of working nights isn't lovely but I wouldn't let that put you off put you off pursuing your dreams
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    (Original post by emily__g)