Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I am currently a student at medical school who is considering undertaking a PhD as part of my medical degree. I know the University of Cambridge offers this, however, it only says external applicants can be accepted in exceptional circumstances. I would like to know what these circumstances are? If it's being profoundly unhappy at university, I definitely tick that box. If it's if you need to come very highly in your year, I am willing to attempt to do so. Thanks for your help and all the best.
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    (Original post by funky386)
    however, it only says external applicants can be accepted in exceptional circumstances.
    Where does it say that?

No mention of such a limitation here as far as I can tell:
    https://www.graduate.study.cam.ac.uk...c/requirements

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Doonesbury)
    Where does it say that?
    quoted from the website:
    'MB/PhD applicants must already be enrolled on the standard six-year Medicine MB/BChir degree course at Cambridge University. Only in exceptional circumstances will applications from external medical students be considered. Enquiries should be made to the Programme Director.'

Thanks for the quick reply by the way!
    • Section Leader

ReputationRep:
    Section Leader
    (Original post by funky386)
    quoted from the website:
    'MB/PhD applicants must already be enrolled on the standard six-year Medicine MB/BChir degree course at Cambridge University. Only in exceptional circumstances will applications from external medical students be considered. Enquiries should be made to the Programme Director.'

Thanks for the quick reply by the way!
    Hmm, I'm not a medic and you medics are a special bunch So this is a PhD as part of the medicine degree, rather than after it?