Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    i would like to do this degree but i am a mature student and sort of being apprehensive about leaving with £60,000 and more debt.
    i would like to this degree and work within the diplomatic section? would like some opinions on this as well
    • TSR Support Team
    • Very Important Poster
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Very Important Poster
    PS Reviewer
    (Original post by mateus46)
    i would like to do this degree but i am a mature student and sort of being apprehensive about leaving with £60,000 and more debt.
    i would like to this degree and work within the diplomatic section? would like some opinions on this as well
    You may not need a degree but it will help to understand some basics and maybe network. See where grads end up and look for courses that have good links with the sector.

EDIT: There are various routes into the diplomatic service/sector which may not may not need a degree.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    If you need a degree to enter the Diplomatic Service (which I think you do), then asking if it is good value for money is irreverent. The Civil Service does not care what subject your degree is in, so study something that interests you - if that's IR, go for it.

ReputationRep:
    You can do any degree to get into the FCO, getting one from a good uni e.g. Oxford helps a lot, its very competitive.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    (Original post by Maker)
    You can do any degree to get into the FCO, getting one from a good uni e.g. Oxford helps a lot, its very competitive.
    I don't believe this is true.

ReputationRep:
    Here's the good news. If it doesn't work out you wont have to pay back the money anyway!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Snufkin)
    I don't believe this is true.