Turn on thread page Beta

How to be less paranoid about being watched? watch

• Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant
    When I go to the gym, currently I only use the treadmill. I know how to use it and don't feel like I'm being watched when using it. It's simple and easy, and I get a good workout from it.

But I really want to try the other machines like the rowing machine, bikes or the one where you swing your arms and legs at the same time. But because I've never used them before, I'm paranoid about being watched while I try to figure out how to use them, and look like a bit of a dweeb for not knowing. I know I can ask a member of staff, but I'm just feeling a bit awkward about it.

How can I get over this? I really want (and probably need) to get fitter and lose some fat, preferably before I go on holiday in 2 months. Yes, I am altering my diet (but really struggling with sweet stuff) but I want to exercise more too.
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    Go at quieter times?

If you really cannot work it out then ask staff as you say. They won’t bite.

The bikes are very simple, it’s all touch screen.

Just think - what is the worst that’s gonna happen?
    Everyone started somewhere.

ReputationRep:
    Generally the machines are really simple. You can see the movement by watching other people. So it's just the screen to work out and they're very intuitive.

ReputationRep:
    Study videos on the internet so you get a rough idea. Goodluck losing weight.
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    Community Assistant