Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    hey guys,
    im applying for accomodation tomorrow and confused between deanery, LFW or Austen House because deanery is meant to be super nice and LFW is meant to be the 'party halls' which is more my scene of environment, also i cant find much info on the life at Austen house either
    Can someone who has been at SSU help me defer between the two kind of stuck!!!

ALSO! I'm applying for PE so if anyone could give me tips for that, that would also be fab!
    • TSR Community Team
    • Clearing and Applications Advisor

ReputationRep:
    TSR Community Team
    Clearing and Applications Advisor
    Hi - sorry you haven't had a response to this yet. I'm just going to bump the thread in the hope that someone sees this and can help
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    Hi there,

I graduated from Solent last July, so might be able to help!

Deanery and LFW are both halls owned by the University, and offer fairly similar things in terms of accommodation. I wouldn't worry too much about a difference in atmosphere, as the Students' Union organises lots of events when you start university, and these include all of the different halls.

Atmosphere in your flat will entirely depend on the people you're living with, so it's a bit of a "luck-of-the-draw" situation!

The reason you can't find info on Austen House is that it isn't actually owned by Solent. These are privately-owned halls, run by The Student Housing Company. These were only built very recently, and are much the same as the uni-owned accommodation: gated entry, option for ensuite/non-ensuite, common rooms, wi-fi, bills included, etc. You can also apply for studios with TSHC, but if you're looking for a more social environment, I would avoid this!

I hope this helps!

Hollie

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ellabowler)
    hey guys,