The Student Room Group

International student with no offers for med.

I have been rejected from all 4 med schools. I am an international student. Anyone else in the same boat as me and if so, what do you plan to do?

Scroll to see replies

Original post by joshchamp125
I have been rejected from all 4 med schools. I am an international student. Anyone else in the same boat as me and if so, what do you plan to do?

Get feedback and find out why/ where your weakness was.

Decide if you have alternatives or yu will work on your application and try the following year.
which country r u from?
Original post by koushik888
which country r u from?

India
Reply 4

May I ask where u applied and what were your stats?
Reply 5
Also was it pre or post interviews
Try again next year.

You could look at some medical schools in new zealand or australia alongside the british ones.

Did you sit the ukcat or bmat do you have any experience like work shadowing?
Original post by Ocd2015
May I ask where u applied and what were your stats?

Ucl Plymouth Cambridge and Queen Mary

Stats: 10A* 2As at GCSE.
Predicted A Levels: A*A*A* in Bio Chem and Maths
Ukcat 660 average

I think my PS let me down I’m not quite sure. Except for Cambridge, all 3 of the unis rejected me pre interview
Original post by Laboromniavincit
Did you sit the ukcat or bmat do you have any experience like work shadowing?

Yes I sat Both UKCAT and BMAT and had 3 weeks of work experience/shadowing
Was the score good ? Please ask for feedback . How did the interview go ?
Some private unis are still accepting applications for medicine. I've heard of people applying to Irish medical schools after 4 rejections, I've also heard ot people getting offers from Barts Malta after the release of A-level results in August.

Alternatively you could look into medical school in Australia, their application cycle for 2018/19 entry hasn't started yet.
Ucl Plymouth Cambridge and Queen Mary

Stats: 10A* 2As at GCSE.