The Student Room Group

Investment Banking: Should I drop out of Nottingham and go to Warwick?

I'm currently studying Maths and Economics at Nottingham University (fresher) but I have been offered year one entry into Warwick's MORSE BSc. I applied for year two aswell but got rejected :/ . My options are
1. Stay at Nottingham and possibly do a masters at LSE
2. Go to Warwick

If I stayed at Nottingham would I even get an IB intership? I don't have any work experience and apparently it's much harder to get into from a semi-target.
Reply 1
Wouldn't it be better to go Warwick because they hire from their interns and I wouldn't get an intership if I was at notts
Reply 2
Bump- I need to decide today as my housemates for next year want to know if I'm gonna drop out
Reply 3
Oh nice haha, what are you gonna be studying?
Reply 4
Oh that's sick, I might see u there :wink:
Reply 5
Bumpppp:s-smilie:
Warwick is significantly better than Nottingham in things relating to econometrics, stats and mathematics

As a uni Nottingham campus is probably nicer and the city is undoubtedly better than Coventry

But IB's recruit from both, but Warwick is in T1 whereas Notts is in T2
Reply 7
Original post by The Assassin
Warwick is significantly better than Nottingham in things relating to econometrics, stats and mathematics

As a uni Nottingham campus is probably nicer and the city is undoubtedly better than Coventry

Yeah Nottingham has a nice campus and the social life is really good aswell but I might not get into IB lol.
What would you recommend I do?
Original post by Zalvager
Yeah Nottingham has a nice campus and the social life is really good aswell but I might not get into IB lol.

What would you recommend I do?

Tbh go to Warwick. Warwick's rep for IB compared to Notts is going to be greater than any costs incurred from the lesser social life which itself is very good esp. as you have access to Bham and Leam Spa

I am biased though :-)