Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I really can't decide between these two for my insurance choice (Biological Science at Oxford will be my firm). They're both the same offer requirements, St Andrews is a 4 year Scottish degree and York is a 4 year integrated masters. I think I prefer York as a place but I've not been to St Andrews. I think I prefer York's course, but St Andrews is higher ranked and more importantly I'm an EU student with Scottish/EU fee status so St Andrews is obviously the better option economically.

I'm pretty sure I will make my Oxford offer so this whole decision is pointless, but I need to choose just in case. How should I decide?
    • Very Important Poster

ReputationRep:
    Very Important Poster
    (Original post by TheBirder)
    I really can't decide between these two for my insurance choice (Biological Science at Oxford will be my firm). They're both the same offer requirements, St Andrews is a 4 year Scottish degree and York is a 4 year integrated masters. I think I prefer York as a place but I've not been to St Andrews. I think I prefer York's course, but St Andrews is higher ranked and more importantly I'm an EU student with Scottish/EU fee status so St Andrews is obviously the better option economically.

I'm pretty sure I will make my Oxford offer so this whole decision is pointless, but I need to choose just in case. How should I decide?
    Are the courses the same or is there a module in one that you like the sound of more?
    • Very Important Poster

Very Important Poster
    On the one side I think St Andrews might be more competitive and less likely t take you as an insurance i.e fail to get into Oxford and you may not get into St Andrews either. York might be a bit more lenient?

On the other side £30k saving isnt to be sniffed at. If you cnat visit then do try and talk to some students at St Andrews plus see if there are youtube videos.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Tiger Rag)